One chapter closes. But another could open.

It’s nearly the end of 2017, and what a year it has been! Besides some major milestones in my life, kick starting this business idea of mine was probably one of the highlights of my year. Not because it has been successful or because I have been able to achieve the goals I set out for it, but because I have learnt so much more about what it takes to be an entrepreneur. Unfortunately, I end 2017 closing this chapter of my life, as through my journey I have understood that there are hurdles I unfortunately cannot overcome in the near future. However, this does not mean that it is the end of the road for me and my passion. I am determined to continue iterating and finessing my idea, until one day I have all the resources available to succeed.

Does this mean that all ideas are set to fail at the initial stages? DEFINITELY NOT! Yes, success may not come as fast or as easy as you may want it to or expect, but it DOES NOT mean that all ideas are set to fail. For me, the fact that I had to rely on others to succeed was my downfall. I had the ideas, creativity and the business knowledge, but what I did not have was the skill set to complete the vision. As such, I had to rely on others to be as invested and passionate about the idea as me, and I foolishly thought that this would be easy to come by (maybe because I was so blinded by my determination!).

“Success is not final; failure is not fatal: It is the courage to continue that counts.”

— Winston S. Churchill

Upon reflection, I realised that in order to be a successful entrepreneur, I would have to dedicate all my time, focus and love to my idea. With my life situation and commitments, it is not something that I would be able to commit to. So instead of launching a half baked brand and line that I was not proud of, I decided to count my losses and close the cover, to be reopened at another point in time.

For those of you who have supported me on my journey so far and have sent your kind thoughts and comments, thank you so very much! The well wishes and support I have received from strangers all around the world has been incredibly heart warming. I’ll be sure to keep blogging about all the new and crazy ideas I come up with along the way, so make sure you stay tuned!

Until next time..

Krithi

2 thoughts on “One chapter closes. But another could open.

Leave a comment